Heelan Scholarships Expand

New Scholarships Available for Heelan Students
Posted on 02/09/2020
Over 50 scholarships, including 3 new ones, will be offered to students attending Bishop Heelan High School next school year. Applications are available in the Heelan Guidance Office and due in April.

The scholarships – named in memory of parents, children and priests -- are awarded to incoming Heelan freshmen and upperclassmen who fill out formal applications and show achievement in academics, school spirit, activities, service and more.

Memorial scholarships, funded by family members of the former Blessed Sacrament Parish, honor Margaret and Ed Lamkin, Michael Kuehl, Amy Graves Mace, Fred Lennon, Mary Helen and Terrence McElroy, Rose and Edward O’Kane, Roger and Della McCoy, Norma Jean McGowan and Clement E. and LuVerne Duffy.  

The new “Henry and Linda Metz Scholarship for Single Parents” was awarded for the first time last spring. This May the “Spirit of ’75 Championship Scholarship,” spearheaded by Tony Audino '76 to honor deceased members of the 1975 Heelan state championship football team, will be offered for the first time to a student this spring.

Other scholarships are awarded in memory of former parish members of St. Michael, Cathedral, Immaculate Conception and Nebraska parishes. They are named for the late Brian Goetz, Tom Considine, Ray O’Neill, Jack and Margaret Gill, Jon Olson, Carrie Mach, Fr. Alfred McCoy Msgr. Eugene Kevane, Barb Peterson (former Heelan teacher) Kay Bennett and others.

Individuals or families interested in establishing a scholarship fund to honor parents or loved ones should contact Janet Flanagan or Tom Betz at the Heelan Admin Office 226-0366. To obtain a scholarship application call the high school at 252-0573.